Get Involved with Student Organizations Related to Your Major & Interests at AU

Ashland University offers endless opportunities for its students to get involved during their time at AU. A student should never be bored with 124 student organizations and clubs available to participate in. Out of the 124 organizations there are 16 academic/professional groups that are in correlation to ones studies in the College of Arts & Sciences. There PRSSA are 13 honorary organizations related to fields of study, three media and six performance organizations.  Along with academic groups there are also a variety of other groups to get involved from sports to religion clubs.

There are many benefits to getting involved in student organizations while in college. Student organizations help ease the transition from high school to college by helping students meet people and make friends with those who have similar interests. Students are more likely to find people who share the same interests, goals and values as themselves. This reinforces one’s own interests and ideas, which leads to great self-Math clubsatisfaction and feeling of purpose. Involved students feel more connected to the university, the campus, the people and are more familiar with the resources the university provides. As a result of student involvement, one will gain knowledge, skills and experience in leadership, communication, problem-solving, group development and management, budgeting and finance, presentation and public speaking, and much more! Student’s report higher levels of satisfaction with their college experience and are likely to graduate than students who don’t participate.

If these benefits have convinced you to get involved, here are organizations that might be of interest. Listed with the organizations are the presidents for each group and his or her contact information. It’s not too late to get involved.

Academic/Professional Organizations 

Accent PR

Nellie Cronin

ncronin@ashland.edu

 

American Chemical Society

Cassie Nix

cnix@ashland.edu

Art Club

Danielle Rhonemus

drhonemu@ashland.edu

 

Criminal Justice Club

Allie Spain

aspain@ashland.edu

French Club

Amanda Stoner

astoner3@ashland.edu

Spanish Club

Andrea Anderson

aander19@ashland.edu

 

Geology Club

Mack Taylor

mtaylo11@ashland.edu

 

Mathematics Association of America

Bradley Sekas

bsekas@ashland.edu

 

Ohio Collegiate Music Educators Association

Alexandria VanScoy

avanscoy@ashland.edu

Philosophy Club

Paul Dyczkowski

pdyczkow@ashland.edu

Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA)

Nellie Cronin

ncronin@ashland.edu

 

Psychology Club

Samantha Diemer

sdiemer@ashland.edu

 

Social Work Club

Jennifer Williams

 

Sports Communications Club

Kate Lentz

klenz@ashland.edu

 

Honoraries

Alpha Phi Sigma (Criminal Justice)

Michael Barrett

mbarrett@ashland.edu

Alpha Psi Omega (Theatre)

Hilary Rheinheimer

hrheinhe@ashland.edu

Beta Beta Beta (Biology)

Cassie Nix

cnix@ashland.edu

Kappa Kappa Psi (Music)

Morgan Mirtes

mmirtes@ashland.edu

Kappa Omicron Nu (Family & Consumer Sciences)

Emily Kingrey

ekingrey@ashland.edu

 

Lambda Pi Eta (Communication)

Megan Wise

mwise@ashland.edu

Phi Alpha Theta (History)

Michael Schwarz

mschwarz@ashland.edu

Phi Sigma Lota (Foreign Language)

Amanda Stoner

astoner2@ashland.edu

 

Phi Sigma Tau (Philosophy)

Chris Goffos

cgoffos@ashland.edu

Pi Sigma Alpha (Political Science)

Lindsey Richey

lrichey1@ashland.edu

 

Psi Chi (Psychology)

Nicole Austin

naustin@ashland.edu

Sigma Gamma Epsilon (Geology)

Michael Hudson

mhudson@ashland.edu

 

Sigma Tau Delta (English)

Kelsey Myers

kmyers7@ashland.edu

 

 

Media

Literature Club

Erika Gallion

egallion@ashland.edu

The Collegian

Chris Bils

cbilis@ashland.edu

 

WRDL 88.9 FM

Chris Beisel

cbeisel1@ashland.edu

 

 

 

Performance

Band (Concert & Marching):

Margaret Couts

mcouts@ashland.edu

 

Drop of a Hat Player

Kelsey Bowens

kbowens@ashland.edu

Jazz Orchestra

Dr. Haught

dhaught@ashland.edu

Surround Sound

Emily Springer

surroundsound@ashland.edu

 

University Choir

Erin Lingenfelter

elingenf@ashland.edu

 

Women’s Chorus

Elizabeth Papantonio

epapanto@ashland.edu

 

 

 

 

 

Events

Apr
27
What better way to encounter the culture of Latin America... Read more