The Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) is an educational and scientific society uniting the world’s computing educators, researchers and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources and address the field’s challenges. ACM strengthens the profession’s collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development and professional networking.

The ACM was founded as the Eastern Association for Computing Machinery at a meeting at Columbia University in New York on September 15, 1947. Its creation was the logical outgrowth of increasing interest in computers as evidenced by several events. In January 1948, the word “Eastern” was dropped from the name of the Association. In September 1949, a constitution was instituted by membership approval.

The student chapter at AU began over 20 years ago. The faculty advisor assists students in preparing for the ACM competitions. In addition to the competitions, the group meets for socializing and fun. All students are welcome; there are no membership fees.

The Ashland chapter of Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) is the active organization for students interested in the field of Computer Science.  The club meets and attends the regional ACM competition every year.  Our meetings heavily revolve around our collective interest in computers, gaming and programming of our events. In the past, our chapter has entertained the campus with various events, the largest being our annual Easter Egg Hunt, where we collaborate with Ashland's Mathematics Association of America club.

All AU Majors Are Welcome to Join!

2017-2018 ACM Student Chapter Officers

President: Brady Douglas

Vice President: Erich Berger

Secretary: Nathan Ahrens

Treasurer: Brennan Kunkel

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Iyad Ajwa

2016-2017 ACM Officers

2017 ACM Officers

President: Douglas Brady

Vice President: Erich Berger (Not Pictured)

Secretary: Nathan Ahrens

Treasurer: Brennan Kunkel (Not Pictured)

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Iyad Ajwa