College of Arts & Sciences 25 Year Recognition

Join us as we congratulate six members of the College of Arts & Sciences on 25 years of excellence!

Guiher Huff

On graduating with her M.Ed. and being named to AU’s Academic Hall of Fame in 1988, Sue Guiher-Huff assisted John Stratton in establishing AU’s Writing Center programs and has served as the Writing Center (now Writing Studio) Director since 1990.  In that time, she has trained an enormous cadre of writing tutors who in turn have assisted thousands of AU students with writing assignments of all sorts.  Raising the profile of the Writing Studio through the years, she played a key role in the establishment of the Graduate Writing Center, and has worked for years with the College of Business and Economics to assess the writing of COBE students.  She has taught many sections of English writing courses and has twice received Academic Mentor Awards.  Recognized by her peers nationally, Sue has served as QEP Lead Evaluator for the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools at three universities undergoing their accreditation reviews and has been a regular presenter at regional and national conferences presented by the Writing Centers Association.  Among Sue’s achievements outside the Writing Studio are the establishment of the AU Recycling Services Office and 300,000 miles of motorcycle travel in various parts of the world.
Lehman In his 25 years at AU, Dan Lehman has received the Taylor Teaching Award, three Academic Mentor Awards, and was named Outstanding Male Faculty Member at the annual Leadership and Service Recognition Reception in 2011.  Appointed Trustees’ Professor in 2004, Dan was a Fulbright Senior Scholar to Stellenbosch University in South Africa in 2004-05.  Since then he has twice led study tours to South Africa and published several articles examining South African literature.  He has written two books analyzing nonfiction narratives and, along with Joe Mackall, co-founded and continues to co-edit River Teeth: A Journal of Nonfiction Narrative, nationally recognized as one of the outstanding journals of its kind.  His productivity as a scholar and success as a teacher are matched by his extensive contributions of service to AU including more than 20 years as a Faculty Senator, chair of the English Department and the Communication Studies Department, chair and secretary of the Faculty Welfare Committee, service on the Promotion and Tenure Committee and the Graduate Council, acting director of the MFA program for a semester, and 7 years as advisor to The Collegian in which time The Collegian won 7 first place finishes with the American Scholastic Press Association.
Moseman Cindy Moseman joined the Family and Consumer Sciences Department in 1988 to teach courses in Child and Family Studies.  She served as department chair for the last 9 years and played an active role in the development and implementation of the Gerontology certificate and minor.  She completed two terms as a Faculty Senator.  Cindy was twice selected by students as Outstanding Female Faculty of the Year and has received the Academic Mentor Award.  Since 2006 Cindy has been a campus leader in assessment.  Cindy became Assistant Dean in the College of Arts and Sciences this summer.  She shares her expertise with the community on the Family and Children First Council/United Way School Readiness Program and the Mediation Advisory Council.
Salvo In his 25 years, Len Salvo has elevated the university band program.  Inheriting only a pep band of 17 students when he arrived, Len now conducts the Marching Band, Concert Band, Community Concert Band, and wind and brass ensembles in addition to teaching and supervising music education students.  He served 16 years as coordinator of music education and 5 years as department chair.  Len was co-founder in 2001 of the North Central Ohio Adult Music Camp held for ten years at AU.  He served two terms as President of the Ohio Private College Instrumental Conductors Association and regularly serves as conductor of the OPCICA Honors Band.
Schramm Since his arrival at AU, Peter Schramm has divided his time between the Department of History and Political Science and the Ashbrook Center.  After earlier Ashbrook Center appointments as Director of Publications and Associate Director, he served as Executive Director from 1997 until this summer.  He also chaired and taught in the Master’s program in American History and Government since its establishment in 2005.  In the course of his career at AU he has also served as chair of the Department of History and Political Science, Coordinator of International Education, Freshman Seminar Director, member of the Executive Committee of the Faculty Forum, and advisor to Student Senate and Kappa Sigma fraternity.  Beyond the AU boundaries, he chaired the National Advisory Board for International Programs of the U.S. Department of Education for a year, participated in numerous election observation delegations to Eastern European nations, is trustee of the Philadelphia Society (serving as president in 2010-11), and in 2007 was named Outstanding American by Choice by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services.  His impact on undergraduate students is evidenced in his reception of the Academic Mentor Award seven times. 
Udolph When Nancy Udolph joined the Social Work Department, she became the Field Coordinator for the department, a role she played for 18 years until she became the department chair in 2006.  She has received an Academic Mentor Award and was named Outstanding Faculty Member in 2008 by the Interfraternity and Panhellenic Councils.  Her interests in international education have led her to develop two Core courses that focus on international themes, and this summer she taught in the AU in Germany program for the third time.  She served several years on the Faculty Senate and on a variety of University committees.  She has held numerous leadership positions in the Ohio Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers, is secretary of the Ohio College Association of Social Work Educators, and is in her third three-year term as an Ohio representative to the National Association of Social Workers Delegate Assembly.  She also serves on the Board of Directors of the Baccalaureate Social Work Program Directors.  In the Ashland community she has served on the Board of Directors of Ashland Parenting Plus and the Appleseed Community Mental Health Center and is currently on the Board of Directors of the Ashland County Mental Health and Recovery Board and a member of the Youth Crisis Response Team and the Rape Crisis/Domestic Violence Task Force.  With the Social Work students, she launched the Skip-a-Meal program which has for many years provided AU students a chance to contribute to the United Way.