You are here

Connected Councils Dedicated to Ensuring Success

Like every successful business organization, the College of Business and Economics has an acting Advisory Council dedicated to ensuring the success of each student and driving the college forward.

The Business Advisory Council provides guidance, advice, and support to the dean in order to help the College of Business and Economics achieve its goals.

The Council is comprised of working business leaders with a passion for students. They build and sustain a strong foundation for collaboration and communication between the business community and the College of Business and Economics.

Advisory Council Responsibilities

The Council:

  • Serves as an advocate for the College’s mission, values, and academic programs
  • Acts as ambassadors who extend the College’s reach into the wider community
  • Advises the College on matters of curriculum, programs, and initiatives
  • Provides undergraduate and MBA students input on emerging professional and employment trends

Advisory Council Impact

Input from the Council has been instrumental to date in shaping the curriculum and ensuring coverage of emerging business issues such as online course delivery, determining which “soft skills” to prioritize, risk management, and ethics. The Council adds significant value to The College of Business and Economics’ ability to offer contemporary programs that serve students and the business community.

Advisory Council Structure

The Business Advisory Council meets two times during the academic year. Individual members meet more frequently on an ad hoc basis with the dean and other COBE faculty leaders to pursue key strategic initiatives. The College of Business and Economics also has an acting Account and Information Systems Advisory Council dedicated to their specific fields.

 

Advisory Groups

Accounting Advisory Council

Ryan McKenna 
Email: rmakenna@cohencpa.com
Address: 1305 Euclid AveSuite 800
Cleveland, OH 44115

Ms. April Drushell Financial Reporting Leader
Email: aprildrushell@westfieldgrp.com
Westfield Insurance Group
One Park Circle
P.O. Box 5001
Westfield Center, OH 44251-5001

Mr. James R. Graham Senior Manager Audit
Email: JGraham@maloneynovotny.com
Maloney & Novotny LLC
1111 Superior Ave., Suite 700
Cleveland, OH 44114

Mr. James Hess Managing Principal
Email: jhess@whitcomb.com
Whitcomb & Hess
1020 Cleveland Ave
Ashland, OH 44805

Mr. Stephen Nelder Forensic Accounting Consultant
Email: snelder@cbiz.com
CBIZ
4040 Embassy Parkway #100
Akron, OH 44333

Mr. Ron Pittenger VP – Asst. Treasurer, Asst. Secretary
Email: rpittenger@gormanrupp.com
The Gorman-Rupp Company
600 S. Airport Road
Mansfield, OH 44903

Ms. Angela Stojkov Senior Manager
Email: angela.stojkov@ey.com
Ernst & Young LLP
925 Euclid Avenue, Suite 1300
Cleveland, OH 44115

Mr. Todd Weitzel Special Agent
Email: Todd.Weitzel@ci.irs.gov
IRS – Criminal Investigation
1240 E. 9th St.
Room 479
Cleveland, OH 44199

Mr. Mitchell Zunich Director
Email: mpz@barneswendling.com
Barnes Wendling CPAs Inc.
5050 Waterford Dr
Sheffield Village, OH 44035

Management Information Systems Advisory Council

Mr. Scott Anderson AVP, Infrastructure Services
Email: scott.anderson@safeguardproperties.com
Safeguard Properties
7887 Hub Parkway
Valley View, OH 44125

Mr. Kevin Briggs Manager, Applications
Email: Kevin.Briggs@jmsmucker.com
The J.M. Smucker Company
Strawberry Ln.
Orrville, OH 44667-0280

Mr. William Danuloff Retired, The Gorman-Rupp Company
Email: bdanuloff@gmail.com
1515 White Oak Ct.
Mansfield, OH 44906

Mr. Chris Gullett Manager, Financial & PTP Systems
Email: chris.gullett@timken.com
The Timken Company
P.O. Box 6922
North Canton, OH 44720

Mr. Bryan Hutson Vice President, Information Services
Email: bryan.hutson@jmsmucker.com
The J.M. Smucker Company
Strawberry Ln.
Orrville, OH 44667-0280

Mr. Jim Kerr Owner
Email: jim.kerr@crusolutions.com
CRU Solutions http://www.crusolutions.com
7261 Engle Rd., Suite 305
Cleveland, OH 44130

Ms. Lorinda (Lori) King Associate VP of IT Operations
Email: holbenl@nationwide.com
Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company
1 Nationwide Plaza, 3-16-301
Columbus, OH 43215


Mr. Todd Warholic Testing Services Group Manager Email: toddwarholic@westfieldgrp.com
Westfield Insurance
One Park Circle
P.O.Box 5001
Westfield Center, OH 44251-5001

Mr. Pat Wischmeier Vice President & CIO
Email: PWischmeier@gormanrupp.com
The Gorman-Rupp Company
PO Box 1217
Mansfield, OH 44901-1217

Business Advisory Council

Mr. Frank Alexander Director, Executive Briefing
Programs Office: (330) 490-5068
Class of ’09 MBA Diebold, Inc./Global Solutions Center Fax: (330) 490-6260
5995 Mayfair Road Cell: (330) 316-6530
North Canton, OH 44720
Email: frank.alexander@diebold.com
www.diebold.com

Mrs. Marlene K. Barkheimer President & CEO
Office: (419) 853-1100 ext. 238
Class of ‘91 Farmers State Bank
Email: mbarkheimer@farmersstate-oh.com
11 South Main Street
West Salem, OH 44287

Mr. Jorge A. Broggio President
Class of ’90 MBA Brocon Consulting
Home Address 5825 Ramblewood Court Home: (810) 225-2392
Brighton, MI 48116
Email: jbroggio@voyager.net

Mr. Bill Danuloff Retired V.P. and Chief Information Officer
Class of ’80, The Gorman-Rupp Company
Class of ’83 MBA
Home Address 1515 White Oak Ct. Cell: (419) 512-3960
Mansfield, OH 44906
Email: bdanuloff@gmail.com

Mr. John Denman Senior Director Work: (330) 684-3907
Talent Acquisition & Employee Development
The J.M. Smucker Company
Email: john.denman@jmsmucker.com
Strawberry Lane
Orrville, OH 44667

Mr. Richard M. Ferrari Managing Director
Office: (650) 329-1999
De Novo Ventures Email: rich@denovovc.com
14612 Big Basin Way, STE B
Saratoga, CA 95070

Dr. Lucille G. Ford President,
The Ashland County Office: (419) 289-0668
Class of ’95 ATS Community Foundation Email: lgford@accommunityfoundation.org
300 College Avenue Lgford21@gmail.com
Honorary ’95 Ashland, OH 44805 Fax: (419) 289-5540
www.ashlandcountycommunityfoundation.org
Home Address 257 N. Countryside Dr.
Ashland OH, 44805

Mr. Nicholas Gesouras Senior Vice President
Office: (419) 524-0831
Mechanics Bank Fax: (419) 525-0998
2 South Main St. Email: ngesouras@mymechanics.com
Mansfield, OH 44902

Mr. Kimon Karas Senior Tax Attorney
Office: (216) 696-1422 ext. 206
McCarthy, Lebit, Crystal & Liffman Co., LPA Fax: (216) 696-1210
101 Prospect Avenue West, Suite 1800 Cell: (216) 470-0340
Cleveland, OH 44115
Email: kpk@mccarthylebit.com
www.mccarthylebit.com

Mrs. Barbie Lange President/CEO
Office: (419)281-4584 ext. 104
Class of ’78 Ashland Area Chamber of Commerce
Email: blange@ashlandoh.com
211 Claremont Ave Fax: (419) 281-4585
Ashland, OH 44805 Cell: (419) 651-3087
www.ashlandoh.com

Mr. Fred Mankins Retired Financial Advisor
Class of ’73 Edward D. Jones & Co.
Cell: (740) 398-9800
Home Address 20900Giffin Road
Email: fred.mankins@gmail.com
Danville, OH 43014

Mr. Paul McKnight Retired Sr. VP Organization Planning
Class of ‘70 Emerson Electric Company
Email: paulemcknight@gmail.com
Home Address 8636 Blue Water Dr.
Powell, OH 43065

Ms. Claudia Diaz-Singer Senior Manager, Employee Development
The J.M. Smucker Company 
Email: claudia.diazsinger@jmsmucker.com
Strawberry Lane
Orrville, OH 44667

Mr. Matt Miller Mayor, City of Ashland
Office: (419) 289-0885
Class of ‘99 206 Claremont Ave. Cell: (419) 496-1149
Ashbrook Scholar Ashland, OH 44805
Email: miller.matt@ashland-ohio.com

Dr. Paul Miklovich Administrative Director, Operational Compliance
Class of ’09 MBA Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Home Address 35976 Falcon Crest Ave Cell: (440) 225-9061
Avon, OH 44011
Email: pmiklovich@live.com

Mr. Nathan Moore Regional Executive Vice President 
Office: (703) 205-0340
Class of ‘02 AXA Advisors Fax: (703) 207-0942
3141 Fairview Park Drive, Suite 250 
Email: Nathan.Moore@axa-advisors.com
Falls Church, VA 22042

Mr. Dustin Ness First Vice President/Resident Director
Office: (419) 609-3481
Class of ’04 Merrill Lynch Cell: (419)612-5212
4406 Timber Commons Dr. Fax: (877) 653-5160
Sandusky, OH 44870 Email: dustin.ness@ml.com
Home Address 3517 Scheid Rd
Huron, OH 44839

Mr. Shawn Phelps Wealth Management Advisor
Cell: (740) 641-7140
Class of ‘97 Northwestern Mutual
Email: shawn.phelps@nm.com
Class of ’04 MBA 6649 N. High Street
Worthington, OH 43085

Mr. Lee Reineke Chairman
Office: (419) 281-5800 ext. 5055
Americarb Fax: (419) 281-0059
1025 Faultless Drive Cell: (216) 496-8777
Ashland, OH 44805
Email: leer@americarbinc.com
www.americarbinc.com

Mr. Alan Roth CEO
Class of ’79 Oak Street Ventures, LLC.
Home Address 4271 S. Fletcher Avenue Cell: (513) 706-3218
Amelia Island, FL 32034
Email: roth.ad@icloud.com

Mr. James R. Smail Chairman
Office: (330) 264-7500
J.R. Smail, Inc. Cell: (330) 466-2295
2285 Eagle Pass
Email: smailjamesr@gmail.com
Wooster, OH 44691
Home Address 1895 Flickinger Hill Rd.
Wooster, OH 44691

Mr. Rob Ward President/Owner
Office: (419) 281-2000
Class of ’87 Coldwell Banker Ward Real Estate, Inc. Fax: (419) 281-2004
600 East Main Street Cell: (419) 651-9701
Ashland, OH 44805
Email: robward@coldwellban

Mr. Eric W. Wiedenmann President
Office: (925) 648-0680
09/28/18 CH
Class of ’73 Market Development Group, Inc. Cell: (925) 413-5159
9000 Crow Canyon Rd., Suite S #304 Fax: (925) 648-9282
Danville, CA 94506
Email: ericw@marketdevelopment.net
www.marketdevelopment.net