graphic of MAHG program

Six state winners of prestigious History Teacher of the Year honor have ties to AU

Published on Aug. 09, 2023
History and Political Science

ASHLAND, Ohio – Six state winners of The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History’s History Teacher of the Year award for 2023 are either graduates or current students of Ashland University’s Master of American History and Government (MAHG)/Master of Arts with a Specialization in Teaching American History and Government (MASTAGH) programs. The state winners were announced at the end of July.

The six state winners connected to Ashland’s programs are as follows:

  • Pam Cummings, Arkansas. Cummings, a 2021 graduate of AU’s MAHG program, is a history teacher at Benton High School in Benton, Ark.
  • Angel Ledbetter, North Carolina. Ledbetter, a 2021 graduate of AU’s MASTAGH program, is a social studies teacher at Rutherford Early College High School in Spindale, N.C.
  • Mike Bisenius, North Dakota. Bisenius, a 2022 graduate of AU’s MAHG program, is a social studies teacher at Red River High School in Grand Forks, N.D.
  • Marilyn Orseno, Ohio. Orseno, a 2021 graduate of AU’s MAHG program, is a social studies teacher at North Royalton High School in North Royalton, Ohio.
  • Carrie Huber, South Dakota. Huber, a current student in AU’s MAHG program, is a social science teacher at Stevens High School in Rapid City, S.D.
  • Justin Glodowski, Wisconsin. Glodowski, a 2020 graduate of AU’s MASTAHG program, is a social science teacher at Marshfield High School in Marshfield, Wis.

“We were thrilled to learn of the six state award winners of this prestigious honor who are associated with our MAHG program,” said John Moser, chair of the department of history and political science at AU. “This confirms what we have long known about the program: that it attracts outstanding educators who want to deepen their understanding of American history and government and bring it back to their respective classrooms.”

Each state winner was first nominated by a colleague, parent or student. Then, nominees submitted a resume, teaching materials and a letter of recommendation for a committee of educators and education professionals in their state to consider. The winners are all eligible for the National History Teacher of the Year, which will be announced this fall.

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History was founded in 1994 by Richard Gilder and Lewis E. Lehrman, visionaries and lifelong supporters of American history education. The Institute is the leading nonprofit organization dedicated to K-12 history education while also serving the general public. Its mission is to promote the knowledge and understanding of American history through educational programs and resources.

Ashland’s graduate program in American history and government is designed for social studies teachers, community college faculty, museum and library personnel, professional development coordinators, those with a personal or professional interest in history and government and others who would like to take individual courses. It also features convenient and flexible course delivery options to fit an educator’s personal and professional needs. For more information, visit

Ashland University is a mid-sized, private university conveniently located a short distance from Akron, Cleveland and Columbus, Ohio. Ashland University ( values the individual student and offers a unique educational experience that combines the challenge of strong applied academic programs with a faculty and staff who build nurturing relationships with their students.