About the College

Photo of Katie Brown

As the largest academic college on campus, the College of Arts and Sciences is the heart of AU’s liberal arts curriculum. We’re home to 12 departments that span natural sciences, mathematics, social sciences, humanities and visual and performing arts. Our faculty, who are scholars and accomplished professionals in their fields, draw connections among these disciplines in their teaching, research and service.

Each professor and instructor is dedicated to providing a holistic education to Ashland students as they develop into knowledgeable, competent and caring professionals who become leaders in their communities.

The College of Arts and Sciences affects a broad base of students as the Core, Honors and numerous programs are housed here."

- Katherine T. Brown, Ph.D.
  Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

Message from the Dean of the College of Arts ...

Dean's Scholarship

The Dean's Scholarship was created to enhance the undergraduate academic experience for new first-time and transfer students enrolled in the Computer Science/Cybersecurity, Journalism and Digital Media, Biology, Chemistry and Biochemistry and Psychology programs.

Benefits of this scholarship include a merit-based, renewable award of $1,500 that stacks upon other merit awards received. Recipients will also gain the opportunity to join unique academic communities that promote engagement with faculty and focus on career coaching and preparation.

The application consists of a formal essay and interview. To qualify, applicants must be admitted to one of the approved programs with a cumulative, high-school or transfer GPA of 3.5. The scholarship is renewable for up to four years with a GPA of 3.0. The review of applications will begin immediately and will continue until all scholarships have been awarded. The deadline for priority consideration is March 1. 

After you apply for admission to Ashland University, you can apply for the scholarship. You will receive a link to access your application within the student portal. For more information, contact the chair of the applicable department below:

Computer Science/Cybersecurity
Chris Swanson, Ph.D.

Journalism and Digital Media
David McCoy, Ph.D.

Natural Sciences
Nick Johnson, Ph.D.

Diane Bonfiglio, Ph.D.

Student in Psychology class

Contact Information

Katherine Brown, Ph.D.
202 Center for the Arts

Cindy Moseman, Ph.D.
Assistant Dean
210C Center for the Arts

Krystal Hamilton
Administrative Assistant to the Dean
201 Center for the Arts

Katy McCluggage
Administrative Assistant
210A Center for the Arts