Ashland University's Board of Trustees is overseeing the search and transition process for the next president of the university, following the announcement that President Carlos Campo will depart AU in spring 2024. The search will be conducted in collaboration with staff, faculty, alumni and students.

Search Committee

The presidential search committee members are listed below. The committee will provide periodic updates here as new information is available.
Paul E. McKnight

Paul McKnight – Co-Chair

Steven L. Cole

Steven Cole – Co-Chair

Patricia M. Gravatt

Pat Gravatt

Robert G. Ward

Rob Ward

John W. Denman

John Denman

Photo of Joyce Lamb

Joyce Lamb

Tim Solomon

Tim Solomon

Dustin J. Ness

Dustin Ness

James H. Hess

Jim Hess – ex officio

Rick Ewing

Rick Ewing

Mary Deloe

Mary Deloe

Gregory McBrayer

Greg McBrayer

Jason Barnhart

Jason Barnhart

Shawn Orr

Shawn Orr, Ph.D.

Dan Fox

Dan Fox

Giovanni Hutchings at the Miller Chapel

Giovanni Hutchings – Student Representative

Presidential Search Prospectus

The prospectus includes details about Ashland University, including opportunities and challenges, along with the qualifications and personal characteristics we seek in our next president.

How You Can Participate

You will be invited to participate in the search process along the way. Details will be provided at a later date.

Search Firm

Academic Search has been selected as the partner to lead the presidential search for Ashland University and Ashland Theological Seminary. They will assist in developing and vetting a comprehensive pool of highly qualified candidates.