About Recreational Sports at AU

The Ashland University Department of Recreation and Wellness offers such a wide range of recreational sports and leisure activities that you’re sure to find a game or activity you can enjoy. So, don’t let a lack of ability or familiarity with the rules of a game prevent you from checking out our recreational sports programs! We’ve got a variety of Intramural sports and sports clubs to choose from.

Intramural Sports

We provide the Ashland University community with a variety of organized recreational sports and activities in a safe environment so participants have the opportunity to enhance their physical fitness, build social networks, practice good sportsmanship and enjoy their time outside the classroom.

Getting involved is easy. Go to www.imleagues.com and create an account. Then register for the intramural sport you’re interested in by the deadline specified. Alternatively, organize your friends and teammates by becoming a team captain or part of the student staff. The Intramural Sports program employs more than 15 officials each year and employees may work their way up to leadership positions, such as rec sports manager.

If you would like more information or help signing up, stop by the customer service desk or the Rec Center main office.

If you are interested in student employment, contact the Department of Recreation and Wellness today.

Traditional Sports Offerings and Friendly Competitions

Sports Club

Sport clubs give students the opportunity to play at a competitive level outside of varsity athletics. These clubs are student-led, student-run organizations that typically compete with other university or town-sponsored sport clubs or teams and travel to different events/games throughout the year. In general, sport clubs offer more organized competition than intramural sports. They may even involve playoffs at the conclusion of the season. However, the level of competition varies from club to club, with some clubs existing purely for recreation.

Currently, Ashland University offers these 21 men's, women's and co-ed sport clubs.


 

More Information

For more information on individual clubs or for answers to specific questions, reach out to the club presidents.

 

 

Co-Ed Club President Contacts

Climbing: climbing-club@ashland.edu 

Golf: coed-golf@ashland.edu 

Quidditch: quidditch@ashland.edu 

Running: running-club@ashland.edu 

Snow Sports: snowsports@ashland.edu  

Swimming & Diving: swimming-club@ashland.edu 

Tennis: tennisclub@ashland.edu 

Powerlifting: powerlifting@ashland.edu

Badminton: badminton@ashland.ed

Jiu Jitsujiujitsu@ashland.edu

 

Women’s Club President Contacts

Basketball: wbball@ashland.edu 

Rugby: wrugby@ashland.edu 

Soccer: wsoccer@ashland.edu 

Softball: softball@ashland.edu 

Volleyball: clubvb@ashland.edu 

Wrestling: wwrestling@ashland.edu

 

Men’s Club President Contacts

Baseball: mens-baseball@ashland.edu 

Basketball: mbball@ashland.edu

Lacrosse: mlacrosseclub@ashland.edu

Rugby: mrugby@ashland.edu

Soccer: msoccer@ashland.edu